ERICA OBEY | Raymond Chandler, Sir Thomas Malory, and Janet Roger

Updated: Nov 12

Here's a question for you. What do these four authors have in common? Raymond Chandler, Erica Obey, Sir Thomas Malory, Janet Roger?

Well how did you do?

For me the first and the third in this list weren't so very difficult because I've recently been reading the The Annotated Big Sleep for a piece called Tuned to Chandler, published in The Rap Sheet.

Chandler's interest in chivalric deeds is pointed out by the editors in chapter one when Marlowe, visiting a General Sternwood, glances up at "a stained glass panel showing a knight in dark armor rescuing a lady who was tied to a tree and didn't have any clothes on ..." and reckons he might eventually have to go up and help him. Later in the novel, he looks down at his chessboard and comments, “The move with the knight was wrong. . . . Knights had no meaning in this game. It wasn’t a game for knights.

Knights mattered to Chandler and when he created a doing his damnedest to fight evil in the tradition of chivalry, his first thought was to call him Mallory - a reference back to Sir Thomas Malory's 1485 best seller Le Morte d’Arthur. But then of course, he changed his mind and Philip Marlowe was born.

So where does the second author fit into this riddle?

Until only a few weeks ago I had no idea there was any kind of connection at all but when I checked out Award Winning author Erica Obey's website, she makes it clear that before deciding she'd rather be writing stories herself, she'd been teaching college courses on Arthurian Romance.

What a happy coincidence!

And an even happier coincidence for me since Erica very kindly reviewed my novel, Shamus Dust. Here's what she had to say:

"Thoughtful and Well-Researched.

Janet Roger’s "Shamus Dust" is an elegiac tribute to postwar Britain, as well as to the noir genre. Her carefully researched story recreates a puzzled generation striving to distinguish the difference between right and wrong – if indeed such a distinction still exists – in the aftermath of World War II.

Roger meticulously recreates the privations and ambivalences facing a generation who gave their all to fight evil. However, some readers might find the pace a little slow, sacrificing plot for attention to detail."

Praise indeed from someone whose awards leave me speechless! You might like to check them out.

  • September 2018: Gold, Midwest Book Awards, Fiction – Romance, for The Curse of the Braddock Brides

  • June 2018: Silver, IPPY, US Northeast – Best Regional Fiction, for The Curse of the Braddock Brides

  • June 2017: Silver, Foreward Indie Awards, Fiction – Romance, for The Curse of the Braddock Brides

  • December 2010: Winner, Time Travel Romance. On the Far Side Competition, Romance Writers of America. Soon to appear as The Demon Bridegroom.

  • July 2010: Finalist. Pacific Northwest Writers Association, Annual Contest. Her Brother’s Keeper

  • March 2009: Semifinalist, Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award. Back to the Garden

  • August 2005: Semifinalist. Pirate’s Alley Faulkner Society, Creative Writing Competition. (Novel-in-Progress). The Glamour

  • July 2005: Second Place. Pacific Northwest Writers Association, Annual Contest. Corpus Hermeticum

  • September 2003: Finalist, Pirate’s Alley Faulkner Society, Creative Writing Competition. (Novel-in-Progress). Corpus Hermeticum

  • March 2003: Short-listed. Dana Award in the Novel. Corpus Hermeticum

  • August 2002: Semi-finalist. Pirate’s Alley Faulkner Society, Creative Writing Competition. (Novel-in-Progress). Corpus Hermeticum

  • September 1999: Quarter-finalist. New Century Writers Competition in the Novel. Amateurs

  • August 1997: Honorable Mention. Hemingway Days Competition in the Novel. Horse-Whisperers

  • January 1996: Second Prize, Florida First Coast Writer’s Contest. Horse-Whisperers

Did you know?

  • The stained glass above “How the good Knight, St George of England, slew the dragon and set the Princess free” is an Arts and Crafts stained glass panel in the V&A designed by Dante Gabriel Rossetti and made by Morris, Marshall, Faulkner and Co. It's dated to around 1862 - just one year into the American Civil War and about the time General Sternwood must have been born . OK the dame's only semi-naked here but you get the idea!

Amazon links to:

The Annotated Big Sleep - Owen Hill, Pamela Jackson, Dean Rizzuto

The Horseman's World - Erica Obey

Le Morte D'Arthur - Sir Thomas Malory

Shamus Dust - Janet Roger

Janet Roger is the author of SHAMUS DUST : HARD WINTER, COLD WAR, COOL MURDER - available for purchase on Amazon UK and Amazon US

76 views0 comments